Will he call?

telephone-handset-1678302__340

This is the sound of one phone ringing….

mncuhin-2

“Call Me… don’t be afraid you can call me…”

Since high school, his pals teased him and called him “The Munchkin” – his real name was Mnuchin.
He bragged loud and often he worked on Wall Street and turns out, he had a penchant for exaggerating.
Balding, a little chubby and bespectacled, he loved talking about “perfect genes.”
But, he could talk…he was smooth and a real story teller. We met over cocktails.

cocktail-995574__180

I wanted to hear the sound of  ‘Twinkle Twinkle’ on my phone. He said he would call the next day…I nonchalantly cleaned out a closet – my phone in my back pocket waiting for his call…it took an hour to color code all my blouses, shirts, tank tops, T-shirt, and sweaters.

Okay, so I checked to see if my phone was ‘on’ and it was working a half dozen times.  Then, I touched up my roots. Applied Crest Whitening Strips to my teeth. Had a facial.

clock_n6r_1280
Did 50 sit-ups. 20 Planks. Turned on YouTube Yoga and then swooned over Cary Grant in the all-time film classic,  To Catch A Thief. Why doesn’t anyone look like Cary Grant any more?

Checked my phone a few more times and said,C’est la vie!” and went to an early movie. I had perfect genes…perfect jeans…and he was All Talk No Action. Next! Munchkin…

hope

In my dreams, I could be a Princess, and that’s what I was. Like most little girls, I believed nothing less than a Prince could make my dreams come true. Loretta Young
Roots

Sound

Leave a Reply

